Skip to main content
'''Explosions in the Sky''' is an American post-rock band from Texas. The quartet originally played under the name Breaker Morant, then changed to the current name in 1999. The band has garnered popularity beyond the post-rock scene for their elaborately developed guitar work, narratively styled instrumentals, what they refer to as "cathartic mini-symphonies," and their enthusiastic and emotional live shows. They primarily play with three electric guitars and a drum kit, although band member Michael James will at times exchange his electric guitar for a bass guitar. The band has later added a fifth member to their live performances. The band's music is almost purely instrumental.
OriginAustin, Texas|Austin, Texas, United States
GenrePost-rock, instrumental rock
Years active1999–present
LabelTemporary Residence Limited, Bella Union
Associated actsInventions (band)|Inventions
Current membersChris Hrasky
Michael James
Munaf Rayani
Mark Smith
share Share
favorite Favorite


TOPIC atoz
up-solid down-solid